Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a Pharmacist Licensure by Endorsement for Foreign Graduates.
The requirements are as follows and can be found in Section 465.0075, F.S. and 465.007(1)(b) and (c), F.S.:
Foreign graduate applicants (graduates of non-Accreditation Council of Pharmacy Education (ACPE) accredited programs) must meet all of the following requirements:
- Meet the qualification for licensure in Section 465.007(1)(b), F.S: which require all Foreign graduate applicants to complete a 500 hour work activity internship in Florida prior to becoming eligible for the examination:Submit evidence that the applicant completed a minimum of 500 hours in a supervised work activity program in the State of Florida under the supervision of a pharmacist licensed in the state of Florida. The program must be approved by the Board. Your preceptor must be approved prior to beginning the work activity manual.
- Has obtained passing scores on the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) and the Test of Spoken English (TSE), or the TOEFL iBT.Passing Scores:TOEFL:
213 (computer based test)
550 (paper and pencil test)TSE:50ORTOEFL iBT:
Listening – 18
Reading – 21
Speaking – 26
Writing – 24
- Obtain a passing score on the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Examination. To obtain information about this examination, please contact the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Commission (FPGEC) at 1600 Feehanville Drive, Mount Prospect, IL 60056, or call (847) 391-4406.
- Submit evidence of the applicant’s active licensed practice of pharmacy in another state for at least two (2) of the immediately preceding five (5) years. Candidates applying by this method must submit 30 hours of board-approved continuing education for the two (2) years preceding the application.
- Have obtained a passing score on the National American Pharmacist Licensure Examination (NAPLEX) or a similar nationally recognized examination.
- Complete the Licensure by Endorsement Application and submit it with the appropriate fee and supporting documentation to the board.
- Obtain a passing score on the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE) (law exam). The MPJE exam is computerized and can be taken in your state.If you do not meet these requirements, you must apply by for licensure by examination. You will be required to take both the NAPLEX and the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE) (law exam) when applying by examination unless your NAPLEX score was transferred to Florida within three (3) years of your exam date.
- All sections of the application must be completed in full. If an item is not applicable, indicate with N/A. N/A is not an acceptable answer for yes or no questions and could result in a delay of processing. Failure to submit a complete application will result in a processing delay. If you provide false information, the board may deny your application for licensure.
- If you have been licensed in any other state, each state must submit a written verification of the current status of your license. It is the applicant’s responsibility to contact each state in which they have held or currently hold a license to request licensure verification. The verification must be received directly from the state board of pharmacy, or it will not be accepted. The state board of pharmacy does not have to use the form included in this packet, they may submit their own. This information is required even if you are no longer licensed in the state.
- All applicants must complete a Florida Board approved course on medication errors prior to licensure. (Submit a copy of the course completion certificate to the Florida Board of Pharmacy.)
Applicants with Discipline History
If you answer “yes” to any of the disciplinary history questions on the application, Please provide a certified copy of document(s) relative to any disciplinary action taken against any license. The documents must come from the agency that took the disciplinary action and must be certified by that agency.
In addition, include detailed description of the circumstances surrounding your disciplinary action and a thorough description of the rehabilitative changes in your lifestyle since the time of the disciplinary action which would enable you to avoid future occurrences. It would be helpful to include factors in your life, which you feel may have contributed to your disciplinary action, what you have learned about yourself since that time, and the changes you have made that support your rehabilitation.
The Board of Pharmacy has created guidelines for specific actions to be cleared in the board office; however, the staff cannot make determinations in advance as laws and rules do change over time.
Applicants with Health History
If you answer “yes” to any of the health history questions on the application, please submit supporting documentation including a letter explaining the medical condition(s) or occurrence(s) and current status; letter(s) from licensed professional summarizing diagnosis, treatment and prognosis; or any other official documentation as it relates to any “yes” answer. Documentation should be current within the last year.
Applicants with Criminal History
The Board of Pharmacy has created guidelines for specific offenses to be cleared in the board office; however, the staff cannot make determinations in advance as laws and rules do change over time. Violent crimes and repeat offenders are required to be presented to the Board of Pharmacy for review. Evidence of rehabilitation is important to the Board when making licensure decisions.
Applicants with prior criminal convictions are required to submit the following documentation to the Board:
Final Dispositions/Arrest Records - Final disposition records for offenses can be obtained at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. If the records are not available, you must have a letter on court letterhead sent from the Clerk of the Court attesting to their unavailability.
Completion of Probation/Parole/Sanctions - Probation and financial sanction records for offenses can be obtained at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. Parole records for offenses can be obtained from the Department of Corrections or at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. If the records are not available, you must have a letter on court letterhead sent from the clerk of the court attesting to their unavailability.
Self Explanation - Applicants who have listed offenses on the application must submit a letter in their own words describing the circumstances of the offense.
Health Care Fraud; Disqualification for License, Certificate, or Registration
Effective July 1, 2012, Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes (F.S.), provides that health care boards or the department shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant:
- Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S., (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S., (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S., (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction unless the candidate or applicant has successfully completed a drug court program for that felony and provides proof that the plea has been withdrawn or the charges have been dismissed. Any such conviction or plea shall exclude the applicant or candidate from licensure, examination, certification, or registration, unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended:
- For the felonies of the first or second degree, more than 15 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- For the felonies of the third degree, more than 10 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- For the felonies of the third degree under section 893.13(6)(a), F.S., more than five years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues), unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the date of the application;
- Has been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to section 409.913, F.S., unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent five years;
- Has been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or Federal Government, from any other state Medicaid program, unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years and the termination occurred at least 20 years before the date of the application;
- Is currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities. The section above does not apply to candidates or applicants for initial licensure or certification who were enrolled in an educational or training program on or before July 1, 2009, which was recognized by a board or, if there is no board, recognized by the department, and who applied for licensure after July 1, 2012.
Within 7-14 days of receipt of your application, the board office will notify you of the receipt of your application, any required documents, and your status. Please submit the following supporting documents with your application:
- Social Security Form.
You are required to document the completion of two years work experience as a licensed pharmacist and completion of 500 intern hours completed in Florida. Two years of work experience must be documented on the Internship or Work Experience Form (Form B) to the board office. 500 intern hours completed in Florida must be documented on Page 22 of the Foreign Graduate Registered Intern Work Activity Manual. Your preceptor must be approved prior to begining the work activity manual.
If you are self-employed as a pharmacist, please submit a notarized statement with your form describing attesting to your ownership of your pharmacy.
License verifications must be sent directly from the state board where you hold or have held a license. Online verifications may be submitted with your application, however if the verification has any type of disclaimer stating that the information may not be current it will not be accepted.
Preliminary Application for Transfer of Pharmacist License –
You must go online to NABP’s website to download this application.
NABP will verify the information that you provided in your application and will mail an official Application of Transfer of Pharmaceutics Licensure to the CANDIDATE. ONCE YOU RECEIVE THIS OFFICIAL APPLICATION FROM NABP, YOU ARE REQUIRED TO MAIL IT TO THE BOARD OF PHARMACY WITHIN 90 DAYS.
ALL REQUIREMENTS FOR REGISTRATION MUST BE MET WITHIN ONE (1) YEAR OF THE RECEIPT OF YOUR APPLICATION OR THE APPLICATION WILL EXPIRE AND YOU WILL BE REQUIRED TO REAPPLY AND RESUBMIT ALL DOCUMENTS.
Upon receipt of your application and supporting documentation your file will be reviewed and written notification will be sent regarding the status of your application. If your file is incomplete a deficiency letter will be sent to notify you of any remaining requirements.
You must register for your MPJE exam. Registration can be completed online at NABP’s website www.nabp.net
Our office will notify the NABP that your application is complete. You will be sent an Authorization to Test number (ATT) by email. Your ATT is valid for one year from the date our office received your application.
Under no circumstances will board staff give exam scores over the phone. You may request copies of your exam scores by submitting a written request by email to firstname.lastname@example.org or by fax to 850-413-6982.
The actual copy of your license should arrive within 7 days of the issue date.
Certified check or money order should be made payable to the Florida Department of Health
Pharmacist Endorsement Application & Licensure Fee: $295.00
(includes $100.00 non-refundable application fee)
MPJE Fee (Paid to NABP): $200.00
NABP Official Application for Transfer of Pharmaceutical License Fee ( Paid to NABP): $300.00
Click on Chapter or Section Number to View
Florida Administrative Code
Rule 64B16-26.204: Licensure by Endorsement