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Dear Animal Control Pharmacy Permit Applicant, 
 
 Thank you for applying for an Animal Control Pharmacy permit in the State of Florida.  
The information in this packet has been designed to provide the essential information required 
to process your application in a timely manner.  Your assistance in providing all required 
information will enable the Florida Board of Pharmacy (the board) staff to process your 
application as soon as possible.  You are encouraged to apply as early as possible, to avoid 
delays due to a large volume of applicants.. 
 
 Florida Statutes require a completed application and fees before your application can be 
reviewed.  Please read these instructions carefully and fully before submitting the application.  
You should keep a copy of the completed application and all other materials sent to the board 
office for your records.  When you mail the completed application and fees, use the address 
noted in the instructions and on the application form. 
 
 When your application arrives, your fees will be deposited and verified before the staff 
review can begin.  You will receive a letter acknowledging receipt of your application.  The staff 
will notify you within 7-14 days if any materials are incomplete. 
 
 If you need to communicate with the board staff, you are encouraged to email the board 
staff at info@floridaspharmacy.gov , or you may at call us at (850) 245-4292.  Our staff is 
committed to providing prompt and reliable information to our customers.  Many procedures 
have been streamlined to expedite the processing of applications; we certainly welcome your 
comments on how our services may be improved. 
 

 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
The Board of Pharmacy 
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OBTAINING AN ANIMAL CONTROL PHARMACY PERMIT OVERVIEW 
 

 
Application Processing 
 
Please read all application instructions before completing your application. 
 
Please mail the application and the $55.00 application fee (check or money order made payable 
to the FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH) to the following address: 

 
Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 
P.O. Box 6320 
Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6320 
 

OR, use the following address if you are using express mail: 
 
Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-04 
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3254 
 

Within 7-14 days of receipt of your application and fees, the board office will notify you of the 
receipt of your application, any required documents, and your status.  If the application is 
complete, you will be notified that an inspector will contact you to setup an inspection 
appointment.  Please do not contact the board office concerning your inspection date, and allow 
7-14 days for the inspector to contact you.  If you have not been contacted by the inspector 
within 7-14 days, then notify the board.  If your application is incomplete, you will be notified in 
writing of what is required to make your application complete. 
 
Licensure Process 
 
Upon completion of the inspection, the inspector will notify the board office as to whether the 
inspection was satisfactory or unsatisfactory.  If the inspection was satisfactory, you will be 
issued a permit number within 7-14 days.  Please wait 7-14 days from your satisfactory 
inspection before checking on the status of your permit.  You may lookup your license 
number on our website http://www.flhealthsource.com/  under “Verify a License.” 

.
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LAWS AND RULES 
 
456.065, Florida Statutes, Unlicensed practice of a health care profession; intent; cease and desist 
notice; penalties; enforcement; citations; fees; allocation and disposition of moneys collected.--  
 
(1)  It is the intent of the Legislature that vigorous enforcement of licensure regulation for all health care 
professions is a state priority in order to protect Florida residents and visitors from the potentially serious 
and dangerous consequences of receiving medical and health care services from unlicensed persons 
whose professional education and training and other relevant qualifications have not been approved 
through the issuance of a license by the appropriate regulatory board or the department when there is no 
board. The unlicensed practice of a health care profession or the performance or delivery of medical or 
health care services to patients in this state without a valid, active license to practice that profession, 
regardless of the means of the performance or delivery of such services is strictly prohibited.  
 
(2)  The penalties for unlicensed practice of a health care profession shall include the following:  
 
 (a) When the department has probable cause to believe that any person not licensed by the 
department, or the appropriate regulatory board within the department, has violated any provision of this 
chapter or any statute that relates to the practice of a profession regulated by the department, or any rule 
adopted pursuant thereto, the department may issue and deliver to such person a notice to cease and 
desist from such violation. In addition, the department may issue and deliver a notice to cease and desist 
to any person who aids and abets the unlicensed practice of a profession by employing such unlicensed 
person. The issuance of a notice to cease and desist shall not constitute agency action for which a 
hearing under s. 120.569 and 120.57 may be sought. For the purpose of enforcing a cease and desist 
order, the department may file a proceeding in the name of the state seeking issuance of an injunction or 
a writ of mandamus against any person who violates any provisions of such order.  
 
 (b) In addition to the remedies under paragraph (a), the department may impose by citation an 
administrative penalty not to exceed $5,000 per incident. The citation shall be issued to the subject and 
shall contain the subject's name and any other information the department determines to be necessary to 
identify the subject, a brief factual statement, the sections of the law allegedly violated, and the penalty 
imposed. If the subject does not dispute the matter in the citation with the department within 30 days after 
the citation is served, the citation shall become a final order of the department. The department may 
adopt rules to implement this section. The penalty shall be a fine of not less than $500 nor more than 
$5,000 as established by rule of the department. Each day that the unlicensed practice continues after 
issuance of a notice to cease and desist constitutes a separate violation. The department shall be entitled 
to recover the costs of investigation and prosecution in addition to the fine levied pursuant to the citation. 
Service of a citation may be made by personal service or by mail to the subject at the subject's last known 
address or place of practice. If the department is required to seek enforcement of the cease and desist or 
agency order, it shall be entitled to collect its attorney's fees and costs.  
 
 (c) In addition to or in lieu of any other administrative remedy, the department may seek the 
imposition of a civil penalty through the circuit court for any violation for which the department may issue 
a notice to cease and desist. The civil penalty shall be no less than $500 and no more than $5,000 for 
each offense. The court may also award to the prevailing party court costs and reasonable attorney fees 
and, in the event the department prevails, may also award reasonable costs of investigation and 
prosecution.  
 
 (d)  In addition to the administrative and civil remedies under paragraphs (b) and (c) and in addition to 
the criminal violations and penalties listed in the individual health care practice acts:  
 
 1.  It is a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084, to 
practice, attempt to practice, or offer to practice a health care profession without an active, valid Florida 
license to practice that profession. Practicing without an active, valid license also includes practicing on a 
suspended, revoked, or void license, but does not include practicing, attempting to practice, or offering to 
practice with an inactive or delinquent license for a period of up to 12 months which is addressed in 
subparagraph 3. Applying for employment for a position that requires a license without notifying the 
employer that the person does not currently possess a valid, active license to practice that profession 
shall be deemed to be an attempt or offer to practice that health care profession without a license. 
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Holding oneself out, regardless of the means of communication, as able to practice a health care 
profession or as able to provide services that require a health care license shall be deemed to be an 
attempt or offer to practice such profession without a license. The minimum penalty for violating this 
subparagraph shall be a fine of $1,000 and a minimum mandatory period of incarceration of 1 year.  
 
 2. It is a felony of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084, 
to practice a health care profession without an active, valid Florida license to practice that profession 
when such practice results in serious bodily injury. For purposes of this section, "serious bodily injury" 
means death; brain or spinal damage; disfigurement; fracture or dislocation of bones or joints; limitation of 
neurological, physical, or sensory function; or any condition that required subsequent surgical repair. The 
minimum penalty for violating this subparagraph shall be a fine of $1,000 and a minimum mandatory 
period of incarceration of 1 year.  
 
 3. It is a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083, to 
practice, attempt to practice, or offer to practice a health care profession with an inactive or delinquent 
license for any period of time up to 12 months. However, practicing, attempting to practice, or offering to 
practice a health care profession when that person's license has been inactive or delinquent for a period 
of time of 12 months or more shall be a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, 
s. 775.083, or s. 775.084. The minimum penalty for violating this subparagraph shall be a term of 
imprisonment of 30 days and a fine of $500.  
 
(3)  Because all enforcement costs should be covered by professions regulated by the department, the 
department shall impose, upon initial licensure and each licensure renewal, a special fee of $5 per 
licensee to fund efforts to combat unlicensed activity. Such fee shall be in addition to all other fees 
collected from each licensee. The department shall make direct charges to the Medical Quality Assurance 
Trust Fund by profession. The department shall seek board advice regarding enforcement methods and 
strategies. The department shall directly credit the Medical Quality Assurance Trust Fund, by profession, 
with the revenues received from the department's efforts to enforce licensure provisions. The department 
shall include all financial and statistical data resulting from unlicensed activity enforcement as a separate 
category in the quarterly management report provided for in s. 456.025. For an unlicensed activity 
account, a balance which remains at the end of a renewal cycle may, with concurrence of the applicable 
board and the department, be transferred to the operating fund account of that profession. The 
department shall also use these funds to inform and educate consumers generally on the importance of 
using licensed health care practitioners.  
 
(4)  The provisions of this section apply only to health care professional practice acts administered by the 
department.  
 
(5)  Nothing herein shall be construed to limit or restrict the sale, use, or recommendation of the use of a 
dietary supplement, as defined by the Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, 21 U.S.C. s. 321, so long as the 
person selling, using, or recommending the dietary supplement does so in compliance with federal and 
state law.  
 
History.--s. 73, ch. 97-261; s. 84, ch. 2000-160; s. 35, ch. 2000-318; s. 54, ch. 2001-277. Note.--Former s. 
455.637. 
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CHAPTER 64B16-29 
ANIMAL CONTROL SHELTER PERMITS 

64B16-29.001  Definition 
64B16-29.002  General Requirements 
64B16-29.003  Drug Requirement (Repealed) 
64B16-29.004  Records 
64B16-29.0041  Record Maintenance Systems for Animal Shelter Permits 
64B16-29.005  Storage 

64B16-29.001 Definition. 
An “animal control shelter” is a county or municipal animal control agency or Humane Society registered with the 
Secretary of State which holds a modified Class II Institutional Pharmacy permit issued by the Department of Health 
pursuant to certification of compliance with Rule 64B16-29.002, F.A.C., by the Board of Pharmacy. An animal 
control shelter is issued a pharmacy permit for the sole purpose of obtaining the drugs, sodium pentobarbital and 
sodium pentobarbital with lidocaine, Tiletamine Hydrochloride, alone or combined with Zolazepam (including 
Telazol), Xylazine (including Rompun), Ketamine, Acepromazine Maleate (also Acetylpromazine, and including 
Atravet or Acezine), alone or combined with Etorphine (including Immobilon), and Yohimbine Hydrochloride, 
alone or combined with Atipamezole (including Antisedan), for euthanization or chemical immobilization of 
animals within their lawful possession. 

Rulemaking Authority 465.005, 828.055 FS. Law Implemented 828.055 FS. History–New 10-17-79, Formerly 21S-14.01, 

Amended 4-24-88, Formerly 21S-14.001, 21S-29.001, 61F10-29.001, 59X-29.001, Amended 3-3-13. 

64B16-29.002 General Requirements. 
(1) Application for an Animal Control Shelter Pharmacy permit shall be made on Board of Pharmacy approved 

form DOH-MQA/PH/107 “Animal Control Pharmacy Permit Application and Information,” effective October 2009, 
which is incorporated by reference. To obtain an application, contact the Board of Pharmacy at 4052 Bald Cypress 
Way, Bin #C04, Tallahassee, FL 32399-3254, or (850) 488-0595, or download the application from the board’s 
website at http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/pharmacy. 

(a) The application fee for animal shelters applying for the Modified Class II Institutional permit shall be fifty 
dollars ($50). 

(b) The biennial permit renewal fee for animal shelters holding the Modified Class II Institutional permit shall 
be fifty dollars ($50). 

(2) The applicant shall apply to the Drug Enforcement Administration, United States Department of Justice, by 
the appropriate DEA form, for Registration as a practitioner, to be designated as “Animal Shelter” on the appropriate 
DEA form. 

(3) The applicant shall be certified by the Board of Pharmacy to the Department as having met the requirements 
of this rule chapter prior to issuance of a permit. The certification process shall require prior inspection of the 
facility by authorized persons. 

(4) The consultant pharmacist requirement of Section 465.019(5), F.S., is waived as being inapplicable to this 
special restricted permit. 

(5) Authorized employees of the Department shall inspect animal control shelters not less than twice per year to 
determine compliance with this rule. 

(6) Each animal control shelter permittee shall designate an on-site manager of the shelter. The on-site manager 
and permittee shall notify the Department within ten (10) days of any change in the on-site manager of the shelter. 

Rulemaking Authority 465.005, 828.055 FS. Law Implemented 828.055 FS. History–New 10-17-79, Formerly 21S-14.02, 

Amended 4-24-88, Formerly 21S-14.002, Amended 10-1-92, Formerly 21S-29.002, Amended 7-18-94, Formerly 61F10-29.002, 

59X-29.002, Amended 5-11-10. 

64B16-29.003 Drug Requirement. 

Rulemaking Authority 465.005, 828.055 FS. Law Implemented 828.055 FS. History–New 10-17-79, Formerly 21S-14.03, 
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Amended 4-24-88, Formerly 21S-14.003, 21S-29.003, 61F10-29.003, 59X-29.003, Repealed 3-28-12. 

64B16-29.004 Records. 
Animal control shelter permittees shall maintain records of purchases and administration of drugs for euthanization 
or chemical immobilization for a period of not less than four (4) years. Records of administration shall contain: 

(1) The date of use; 
(2) Identification of the animal; 
(3) The amount of the drug used; 
(4) The signature of the person administering the drug; 
(5) The signature of the on-site manager certifying the accuracy of the administration of sodium pentobarbital 

and sodium pentobarbital with lidocaine not less than once per month; and 
(6) The signature of the on-site manager certifying to the accuracy of the records. These records are subject to 

audit by the Drug Enforcement Administration or authorized employees of the Department to determine adequacy, 
accuracy and validity of the record keeping. 

Rulemaking Authority 465.005, 828.055 FS. Law Implemented 828.055 FS. History–New 10-17-79, Formerly 21S-14.04, 

Amended 4-24-88, Formerly 21S-14.004, 21S-29.004, 61F10-29.004, 59X-29.004, Amended 2-7-13. 

64B16-29.0041 Record Maintenance Systems for Animal Shelter Permits. 
(1) General requirements for records maintained in an electronic system. 
(a) If a permitted animal shelter’s data processing system is not in compliance with the Board’s data processing 

requirements, the facility must maintain a manual recordkeeping system meeting the requirements of Rule 64B16-
29.004, F.A.C. 

(b) Requirements for back-up systems. The facility shall maintain a back-up copy of information stored in the 
data processing system using disk, tape, or other electronic back-up and up-date this back-up copy on a regular 
basis, at least monthly, to assure that data is not lost due to system failure. 

(c) Change or discontinuance of a data processing system. 
1. Records of dispensed and returned medicinal drugs. A permitted animal shelter that changes or discontinues 

use of a data processing system must: 
a. Transfer the records to the new data processing system; or 
b. Purge the records to a printout which contains the same information as required on the audit trail printout as 

specified in Rule 64B16-29.004, F.A.C. 
2. Other records. A pharmacy that changes or discontinues use of a data processing system must: 
a. Transfer the records to the new data processing system; or 
b. Purge the records to a printout which contains all of the information required on the original document. 
3. Maintenance of purged records. Information purged from a data processing system must be maintained by the 

pharmacy for two years from the date of initial entry into the data processing system. 
(d) Loss of data. The shelter manager for permitted animal shelters shall report to the Board in writing any 

significant loss of information from the data processing system within 10 days of discovery of the loss. 
(2) The permitted animal shelter shall maintain a system(s) which can produce the information required in Rule 

64B16-29.004, F.A.C., for the preceding two years. The information required in this paragraph shall be supplied by 
the permitted animal shelter within seven working days if requested.  

(3) Failure to maintain records. Failure to provide records set out in this subsection, either on site or within 7 
working days for whatever reason, constitutes failure to keep and maintain records. 

(4) Data processing system downtime. In the event that a permitted animal shelter which uses a data processing 
system experiences system downtime, the permitted animal shelter must have an auxiliary procedure which will 
ensure that all data is retained. 

Rulemaking Authority 465.005, 465.0155, 465.022,  828.055 FS. Law Implemented 465.019, 465.022, 465.026, 893.07, 828.055 

FS. History–New 3-31-05. 

64B16-29.005 Storage. 
All controlled substances, medicinal drugs or legend drugs shall be stored in a safe place. At a minimum, this shall 
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require that the drugs be kept in a securely locked cabinet within a locked storage room. Schedule II order forms are 
to be stored under the same conditions. Records of purchases of all controlled substances, medicinal drugs or legend 
drugs shall be maintained in a separate file from the records of administration. The records of purchases and 
administration shall be maintained at the location. 

Rulemaking Authority 465.005, 828.055 FS. Law Implemented 828.055 FS. History–New 10-17-79, Formerly 21S-14.05, 

Amended 4-24-88, Formerly 21S-14.005, 21S-29.005, 61F10-29.005, 59X-29.005, Amended 6-17-13. 

 



 

DOH/MQA/PH/107, 10/13 
Rule 64B16-29.002, F.A.C. 

Page 6 of 8  

 

 

FLORIDA BOARD OF PHARMACY 
                                        P.O. Box 6320  Tallahassee, FL 32314-6320  
                                                        Phone: (850) 245-4292  
                                                      www.floridaspharmacy.gov  
  
 

APPLICATION FOR ANIMAL CONTROL PHARMACY PERMIT 
 

Please type or print legibly. 
1. Status of Application – Please choose one of the following: 

_____ New Establishment - $55.00 Application Fee (1020) 

_____ Change of Ownership - $55.00 Application Fee (1021) (A new permit number will be issued) 

 Existing Permit Number _____________ 

_____ Change of Location - $50.00 Application Fee (3011) (Permit number will not change) 

 Existing Permit Number _____________ 

_____ To be amended - $25.00 Application Fee (8006) (name change) 

NOTE: Permit fees include a $5.00 unlicensed activity fee. 

2. Current Permit Number 3. Phone Number 
  
4. Application Date 

 
5. Firm Name 

 
6. Doing Business As (d/b/a) 
 
7. Physical Address 
 
City State Zip 
   
8. Current DEA Registration Number 
 
9. Ownership Information 

Type of Ownership: _____Individual _____Corporation _____Partnership  

 ______Other: _________________________________________ 

Federal Employer Identification Number: _______________________________________ 

Taxpayer Identification Number: ______________________________________________ 

Name of on-site Manager: ______________________________________________________ 

On-site Manager Contact Number: ________________________________________________ 

Please list all officers and Owners.  Attach a separate sheet if necessary. 
Owner/Officer-Title Home Address Zip Telephone Number 

    
    

10. Has the applicant, or any officer, member or partner ever been convicted of a felony or 
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misdemeanor, excluding minor traffic convictions? 
Yes     No     
(You must include all misdemeanors and felonies, even if adjudication was withheld by the court, so that you would not have a record 
of conviction.  Driving under the influence or driving while impaired is NOT a minor traffic offense for the purposes of this question.) 
11. Are you currently registered or permitted in any other states?  If yes, provide the state, permit type 
and permit number for each permit.  Attach a separate sheet if necessary. 

Yes     No    

State Permit Type Permit Number 
   
   

12. Has the applicant, or any officer, member or partner ever owned a pharmacy?  If yes, provide the 
name of the pharmacy, the state where the pharmacy is located and the status of the pharmacy.  
Attach a separate sheet if necessary. 

Yes     No    

Pharmacy Name State Location 
   
   

13. Has any disciplinary action ever been taken against any license, permit or registration issued to 
the applicant, or any officer, member or partner in this state or any other? 

No    Yes    Explain: _____________________________________________ 

 
ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED OR YOUR APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED 

***************************************************************************************************************************** 
Section 456.013(1), F.S., requires that applicants supplement their applications as needed to reflect any 
material change in any circumstances or conditions stated in the application, which takes place between the 
initial filing of the application and the final grant or denial of the license, which might affect the decision of the 
department. 
 
The statements contained in this application are true, complete, and correct and I agree that said statements 
shall form the basis of my application and I do authorize the Florida Board of Pharmacy to make any 
investigations that they deem appropriate and to secure any additional information concerning me, and I 
further authorize them to furnish any information they may have or have in the future concerning me to any 
person, corporation, institution, association, board, or any municipal, county, state, or federal governmental 
agencies or units, and I understand according to the Florida Board of Pharmacy Statutes that a Pharmacist’s 
license may be revoked or suspended for presenting any false, fraudulent, or forged statement, certificate, 
diploma, or other item, in connection with an application for a license or permit, as set forth in Section 
465.015(2)(a), F.S. 
 
Providing false information may result in disciplinary action against my license or criminal penalties pursuant to 
sections 465.067, 775.082, 775.083, 775.084 and 465.018, F.S. 
 
SIGNATURE ___________________________________________     DATE_________________________ 
                      (Person responsible for drug security and record keeping) 
 
NOTICE TO PERSON RESPONSIBLE FOR RECORD KEEPING AND SECURITY OF DRUGS: THE 
BOARD OF PHARMACY AMENDS THE PERMIT EACH TIME THERE IS A CHANGE IN THE PERSON 
RESPONSIBLE FOR RECORD KEEPING ACTIVITIES.  PLEASE NOTIFY THE BOARD OFFICE IN 
WRITING WHENEVER SUCH A CHANGE OCCURS. 

 



 

DOH/MQA/PH/107, 10/13 
Rule 64B16-29.002, F.A.C. 

Page 8 of 8  

 

PHARMACY PERMIT APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
 
 
  
Keep a copy of the completed application for your records. 

 
It is recommended that you use the following checklist to help ensure that your application is 
complete.  Failure to attach any required document, or to have required documentation sent to 
the Board, will result in an incomplete application.  Final approval for inspection can not be 
granted until the application is complete.  Faxed applications will not be accepted.  
 
 
ANIMAL SHELTER PHARMACY PERMIT 

 
______    Application completed (all questions answered) 
 
______    Application signed  
 
______    Onsite Manager listed 
 
______    $55.00 Fee Attached (Permit fee includes $50 application fee  

             and $5.00 unlicensed activity fee) 
 
______    Certificate of Status for the Corporation from the Secretary of  
     State 
 
 
______    Attestation for Business Taxable Assets if applicable 
 
______    Bill of Sale is required for Change of Ownership 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


