Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a Animal Control Pharmacy Permit.
The requirements are as follows and can be found in Rule 64B16-29, Florida Administrative Code:
This type of permit is required for Animal Shelters to purchase and store specific drugs for animal euthanasia. This permit does not authorize sterile or non-sterile compounding.
- An animal control shelter is issued a pharmacy permit for the sole purpose of obtaining the drugs: sodium pentobarbital and sodium pentobarbital with lidocaine, Tiletamine Hydrochloride, alone or combined with Zolazepam (including Telazol), Xylazine (including Rompun), Ketamine, Acepromazine Maleate (also Acetylpromazine, and including Atravet or Acezine), alone or combined with Etorphine (including Immobilon), and Yohimbine Hydrochloride, alone or combined with Atipamezole (including Antisedan), for euthanization or chemical immobilization of animals within their lawful possession.
- The applicant shall apply to the Drug Enforcement Administration, United States Department of Justice, by the appropriate DEA form, for Registration as a practitioner, to be designated as “Animal Shelter” on the appropriate DEA form. The consultant pharmacist requirement of Section 465.019(5), F.S., is waived as being inapplicable to this special restricted permit. Authorized employees of the Department shall inspect animal control shelters not less than twice per year to determine compliance with this rule. Each animal control shelter permittee shall designate an on-site manager of the shelter. The on-site manager and permittee shall notify the Department within ten (10) days of any change in the on-site manager of the shelter.
Within 7-10 days of receipt of your application and fees, the board office will notify you of the receipt of your application, any required documents, and your status. If the application is complete, you will be notified that an inspector will contact you to setup an inspection appointment. Please do not contact the board office concerning your inspection date, and allow 14 days for the inspector to contact you. If you have not been contacted by the inspector within 14 days, then notify the board. If your application is incomplete, you will be notified in writing of what is required to make your application complete.
Upon completion of the inspection, the inspector will notify the board office as to whether the inspection was satisfactory or unsatisfactory. If the inspection was satisfactory, you will be issued a permit number within 30 days. Please wait 30 days from your satisfactory inspection before checking on the status of your permit. You may lookup your license number on our website and begin practicing pharmacy on your licensure date.
The actual copy of your license should arrive within 7 days of the issue date.
Certified check or money order should be made payable to the Florida Department of Health
The application fee is $55.00.
Fee includes non-refundable $50.00 application fee and $5.00 unlicensed activity fee.
Click on Chapter or Section Number to View
Chapter 456: Health Professions and Occupations: General Provisions
Chapter 465: Pharmacy
Florida Administrative Code
Rules: Chapter 64B16-29: Animal Control Shelter Permits