Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Helpful Forms and Links, and Statutes and Administrative Rules for a Pharmacist Collaborative Practice Certification.
Section 465.1865, Florida Statutes, provides that a pharmacist wishing to practice under a collaborative practice agreement must meet the following requirements:
- Hold an active and unencumbered license to practice pharmacy in this state.
- Have earned a degree of doctor of pharmacy or have completed 5 years of experience as a licensed pharmacist.
- Have completed an initial 20-hour course approved by the board, in consultation with the Board of Medicine and Board of Osteopathic Medicine.
- Maintain at least $250,000 of professional liability insurance coverage. However, a pharmacist who maintains professional liability insurance coverage pursuant to s. 465.1895 satisfies this requirement.
- Have established a system to maintain records of all patients receiving services under a collaborative pharmacy practice agreement for a period of 5 years from each patient’s most recent provision of service.
A pharmacist acting under a collaborative practice agreement may not:
- Modify or discontinue medicinal drugs prescribed by a health care practitioner with whom he or she does not have a collaborative pharmacy practice agreement.
- Enter into a collaborative pharmacy practice agreement while acting as an employee without the written approval of the owner of the pharmacy.
A physician may not delegate the authority to initiate or prescribe a controlled substance as described in s. 893.03 or 21 U.S.C. s. 812 to a pharmacist.
Collaborative Pharmacy Practice Agreement Information
Section 465.1865(3), Florida Statutes, requires each collaborative pharmacy practice agreement include terms and conditions that are appropriate to the pharmacist’s training and the services delegated to the pharmacist must be within the collaborating physician’s scope of practice.
A list of chronic health conditions for which a pharmacist can provide patient care services to under a collaborative practice agreement can be located in Rule 64B16-31.007, F.A.C.
The collaborative practice agreement must include the following information:
- Name of the collaborating physician’s patient or patients for whom a pharmacist may provide services.
- Each chronic health condition to be collaboratively managed.
- Specific medicinal drug or drugs to be managed by the pharmacist for each patient.
- Circumstances under which the pharmacist may order or perform and evaluate laboratory or clinical tests.
- Conditions and events upon which the pharmacist must notify the collaborating physician and the manner and timeframe in which such notification must occur.
- Beginning and ending dates for the collaborative pharmacy practice agreement and termination procedures, including procedures for patient notification and medical records transfers.
- A statement that the collaborative pharmacy practice agreement may be terminated, in writing, by either party at any time.
The collaborative pharmacy practice agreement shall automatically terminate 2 years after execution if not renewed. The pharmacist, along with the collaborating physician, must maintain on file the collaborative pharmacy practice agreement at his or her practice location, and must make such agreements available to the department or board upon request or inspection.
A pharmacist who enters into a collaborative pharmacy practice agreement must submit a copy of the signed agreement to the board before the agreement may be implemented.
The rules relating to the Collaborative Practice Certification can be found here.
The following steps apply to individuals who possess a Florida Pharmacist license that is active and in good standing and wish to obtain the Collaborative Practice Certification:
- Apply for a Pharmacist Collaborative Practice Certification. Ensure that all fields are completed as instructed. An incomplete application shall expire after one (1) year. To apply, click here
- Complete a 20-hour board approved Collaborative Practice Certification course. Please submit the certificate of completion for the course with your application. More information regarding approved course may be found on CE Broker.
- Submit a copy of a Collaborative Practice Agreement. Prior to providing or implementing patient care services under a Collaborative Pharmacy Practice Agreement or immediately after the renewal of such an Agreement, a Pharmacist shall submit the executed agreement to the Board Office through the online licensure account by clicking here or via US Mail. Please note that this agreement is not required at the time of certification; however, a pharmacist who enters into a collaborative pharmacy practice agreement must submit a copy of the signed agreement to the board before the agreement may be implemented.
- Obtain $250,000 of professional liability insurance. Please submit a copy of the professional liability insurance policy with your application.
Please allow 7-10 business days for initial review of new applications. All applications and document submissions are reviewed in the order they are received. After your application is reviewed, any deficiencies will be communicated to you in writing by our Board staff. To expedite processing, please submit all required supporting documentation with your application and the requisite fees. If you are having documentation submitted by another entity on your behalf, please verify the Board office’s mailing address to ensure delivery.
- Department of Health
Board of Pharmacy
4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C-04
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3258
There is no application fee for the Collaborative Practice Certification for Pharmacists.
Click on Chapter or Section Number to View
Chapter 465: Pharmacy
Chapter 456: Health Professions and Occupations: General Provisions
Chapter 120: Administrative Procedure Act
Chapter 499: Florida Drug and Cosmetic Act
Chapter 893: Drug Abuse Prevention and Control
Florida Administrative Code
Rules: Chapter 64B16: Board of Pharmacy